The picturesque old town in Dachau

The picturesque old town in Dachau with its many sights is well worth a visit.

Visitors can enjoy the historic town houses, Dachau Palace with its court gardens (summer residence of the Wittelsbachers), as well as the Parish Church of St Jacob and the numerous museums and galleries.

Everything about the city of Dachau

The city of Dachau is only a 20-minute drive from our hotel away and offers with its 1200 years of history a variety of attractions such as the 'Gemäldegalerie Dachau' and the 'Wittelsbach summer residence Schloss Dachau'.

There is also the view to the state capital Munich unique.

But Dachau also means contemporary history with the concentration camp memorial, a central European place of learning and remembrance, which annually attracts more than 800,000 interested people from all over the world.

The picturesque old town in Dachau

The picturesque Dachau Old Town dates back to the time of Charlemagne and was first mentioned in a document in 805. The historic city center has been under ensemble protection since 1984.

Many attractions invite you to linger.

The visitors are particularly impressed by the historic town houses, the Dachau Palace with its 'Hofgarten' (Wittelsbach summer residence) as well as the parish church of St. Jakob and the numerous museums and galleries.

The concentration camp memorial

The Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site was established in 1965 from the initiative of the surviving prisoners who had joined together in 1955 to form the Comité International de Dachau (CID) and fought for the establishment of a memorial site on the grounds of the former concentration camp.

The inauguration of the International Memorial on the Roll-call Square marked the end of the transformation of the former concentration camp into a memorial site.

Our tip: guided tours for visitors are offered in the Palace, through old town and at the Concentration Camp Memorial Site; as will as special themed tours or in historic costume.

Our tip!

The Dachauer Volksfest, known throughout Bavaria for the cheapest beer price attracts numerous visitors in addition to its special flair.

Die malerische Dachauer Altstadt

Die malerische Dachauer Altstadt lädt mit vielen Sehenswürdigkeiten immer zum Verweilen ein.

Die Besucher sind begeistert von den historischen Bürgerhäuser, dem Schloss Dachau mit seinem Hofgarten (Wittelsbacher Sommerresidenz) wie auch der Stadtpfarrkirche St. Jakob und den zahlreichen Museen und Galerien.

Alles rund um die Stadt Dachau

Die Stadt Dachau ist nur 20 Fahrminuten von unserem Hotel entfernt und bietet mit ihrer 1200jährigen Geschichte vielfältige Sehenswürdigkeiten wie zum Beispiel die Gemäldegalerie Dachau und die Wittelsbacher Sommerresidenz Schloss Dachau.

Dort ist auch der Ausblick hin zur Landeshauptstadt München einmalig.

Dachau bedeutet aber auch Zeitgeschichte mit der KZ-Gedenkstätte, ein zentraler europäischer Lern- und Erinnerungsort, den jährlich mehr als 800.000 interessierte Menschen aus der ganzen Welt besuchen.

Die malerische Dachauer Altstadt

Die malerische Dachauer Altstadt geht bis auf die Zeit Karls des Großen zurück und wurde im Jahr 805 erstmals urkundlich erwähnt. Der historische Stadtkern steht seit 1984 unter Ensembleschutz.

Viele Sehenswürdigkeiten laden zum Verweilen ein.

Besonders begeistert sind die Besucher von den historischen Bürgerhäuser, dem Schloss Dachau mit seinem Hofgarten (Wittelsbacher Sommerresidenz) wie auch der Stadtpfarrkirche St. Jakob und den zahlreichen Museen und Galerien.

KZ-Gedenkstätte Dachau

Die KZ-Gedenkstätte Dachau entstand im Jahr 1965 auf Grund der Initiative Überlebender des Konzentrationslagers Dachau, die sich bereits 1955 im wieder gegründeten Comité International de Dachau (CID) zusammengeschlossen hatten, um für die Errichtung der Gedenkstätte am Ort des ehemaligen Häftlingslagers zu kämpfen.

Die Umgestaltung des Ortes zu einer Gedenkstätte wurde 1968 mit der Einweihung des Internationalen Mahnmals am Appellplatz abgeschlossen.

Unser Tipp: Es werden für Besucher auch geführte Rundgänge durch das Schloss, die Altstadt oder die KZ-Gedenkstätte angeboten.  Führungen gibt es aber auch zu Sonderthemen oder im historischen Kostüm.

Unser Tipp!

Das Dachauer Volksfest, bekannt in ganz Bayern für den günstigsten Bierpreis zieht neben seinem besonderen Flair zahlreiche Besucher an.